The Underestimated Ways Depression Can Enrich Your Life

If you’re still here, know you are capable of anything.

Carine Ru
Published in
7 min readOct 16, 2020

--

Illustration by Author, Original Photo by Henri Pham on Unsplash

The other day I had a conversation with my therapist about my most recent depressive episode. I had a mental breakdown leading to a huge dip that took months to recover.

I often think about the person I had to be back then, just to survive. It was hard for me to believe I did it.

“It’s a kind of superpower, really,” my therapist said. She was right.

If you’ve had to endure the dips of depression for a long time, it’s not always easy to give yourself credit. But it’s necessary.

For a lot of people, overcoming depression doesn’t happen once and then never again. According to Dr. William Marchand, psychiatrist, and clinical professor, at least 50% of those who recover from depression will have more than one episode.

It takes immense strength to come out on the other side. Especially if there’s no guarantee, you won’t have to live through it again.

My depression is not “over.” It might never be. But I’ve learned that it also doesn’t need to be able to live a fulfilling life.

No matter how weak depression makes you feel, going through it takes a lot of strength. It’s an opportunity for…

--

--

Carine Ru
Invisible Illness

Mental Health / Psychology, UX / Marketing, and Self. Get unlimited access to Medium and support my writing: https://carineru.medium.com/membership