ADHDers And Autistics Have Heard Enough

People really should know better by now, seriously.

Jillian Enright
Published in
8 min readNov 5, 2021

--

Photo by Phil Hearing on Unsplash

I’ve been pretty lucky. For the most part, I don’t get the kinds of comments I describe in this article. Maybe it’s because I give off a “don’t mess with me” vibe and tend not to interact with strangers at the playground.

There have certainly been ignorant comments and judgemental looks, but I know many others who have experienced this way more often than I have.

This article is dedicated to the ADHDers and Autistics who hear this crap on a regular basis.

“But you don’t look Autistic!”

Wtf does that even mean? What does “Autistic” look like? Do you mean flapping, rocking, and other stimming behaviours? If an Autistic person is hiding their stims (masking), it’s most likely for your sake, not theirs — And if it’s for their sake, it’s a matter of self-protection and self-preservation.

Masking or suppressing our need to stim is usually something we’re forced into by repeated corrections, or to avoid social stigma and social rejection simply for being different.

Not looking Autistic is not a compliment and masking causes us harm.

--

--

Jillian Enright
Invisible Illness

She/they. Neurodivergent, 20+ yrs SW & Psych. experience. I write about mental health, neurodiversity, education, and parenting. Founder of Neurodiversity MB.