This Is Social Anxiety

Understanding and taming the silent beast

Scarlett Jess Perrodin
Published in
10 min readDec 5, 2020

--

Photo by Felix Mooneeram on Unsplash

Reflections of abuse and trauma in this piece may be a trigger. Read with care.

It’s not a matter of being shy, or a matter of hoping I can earn a five-star rating on my personality with every person I meet.

For someone who can jump on stage to perform a solo, stand in front of an audience to give a speech, or set off laughter in a room full of people, I would have never believed I have social anxiety. Would I be able to dazzle in the spotlight of life or accomplish career goals if I had crippling anxiety? I assumed not, but I was wrong. I put on a solid act.

Socially engaging, friendly people can have severe social anxiety. The two are not contradictory. Shyness and Social Anxiety are not synonyms, a common myth, because shyness does not cause internal torment.

The Mayo Clinic explains that social anxiety symptoms include “excess fear of situations in which one may be judged, worry about embarrassment or humiliation, or concern about offending someone.”

Prior to many social interactions, I’m confronted with a pounding heart, a barrage of worry. I try to hide my anxiety, to spare further embarrassment in revealing insecurity. “Awareness that others may see visible signs of anxiety further compounds anxious…

--

--

Scarlett Jess Perrodin
Invisible Illness

Mental health advocate, abuse escape artist, maternal aura, and comic. Personal stories. Some hints of humor. A diamond in the rough is still a diamond.