Tried out Methods to Help You Cope with PTSD Pain

Contains references to the book “The Body Keeps the Score” by Bessel van der Kolk

Eva Grape
Published in
6 min readAug 3, 2022

--

Image created by the author via MidJourney

A few months ago, my family and I went through the traumatic experience of a car accident in which my husband lost control of his car resulting in a person losing their life. Unfortunately, there’s no easy way to say it because no one and nothing prepares you for this sort of life event regardless of which side of the table you are: the victim or the offender.

I can’t speak for others, but in my case, I have experimented with different phases up until now, and I’m certain I’m far from the end of it. As a runner, I treat this whole experience as a marathon where you sometimes feel like giving up, only to find some extra resources to get you moving on, amazed by your body and mental resistance.

Also, I’m aware that we’re all processing trauma differently, so I’m not going to use my experience as fit-all advice, yet, I believe it might be helpful to some extent for some of you, which is why I’m humbly going to share it.

Acute stress triggers avoidance mechanisms.

The acute stress you might experience right in the aftermath of traumatic events will be so overwhelming that your mind will search for…

--

--

Eva Grape

Side-hustler mom writes about marriage, relationships at large and psychology.