I’d Rather Have These Fruits When Depressed

The fact remains that some food/fruits can help you fight depression

Ezekiel Efeobhokhan
Invisible Illness
Published in
3 min readMay 13, 2020

--

Photo by Josefin on Unsplash

One habit I had to deal with during my episodes of depression was my eating habit. I consumed just anything available, and it showed on my weight. While I had several things that triggered my depression, eating just anything within reach was one of my bailout techniques that always failed.

When you are stressed out, eating is the last thing you should do; except you are consuming healthy food. But no one craves vegetables and fruits (or do you?). If there are no artificial sugars, then our appetite will loathe it.

The fact remains that some food/fruits can help you fight depression. Instead of feasting on that pile of doughnuts, you could help yourself with these fruits listed here.

By the way, I did not notice this myself; my fiancee was the brain behind finding this out. She would always give me chocolate whenever we go on a date. She later told me that a doctor had told her chocolate helped improved depressive moods; hence she gave them to me.

So, time to know those delicious fruits that helped me fight depression.

Banana

Banana is the first mention on my list because it did the magic. They do not only give energy, but they will help you fight stress, depression, and anxiety. For me, each time I take this fruit, I could feel the energy surging in after about 10 to 15 minutes. So it is the sacrifice to buy it. You can also add some nuts to it; nuts are an excellent source of omega-3 and are known to help fight depression too.

Avocado

Adding avocado to my breakfast is one of the eating habits that helped improve my moods. I did this once daily, and it did the magic just as the bananas. You can also make avocado toasts. Avocado toasts are quite expensive, but if you have the money, it is worth every penny. Avocado contains some very high fatty acids which help protect the heart and your mind.

Changing your diet

The fact that you have to change your diet can be very tasking to your brain. Your brain will fill you with all the uneasiness in the world until you go back to eating the usual junks. Hence psychologist warns that changing diet can lead to another streak of depression if not correctly done.

I encountered a few challenges when trying to change my diet. I would crave for junks, but because I had my fiancee monitoring my compliance, I would grudgingly comply.

I wasn’t faithful all the time. So, it is okay if you catch yourself slipping back to junks.

But as soon as you remember, you should get back on your plan. The best practice is having someone close to you, monitor your feeding, and ensure you always add these fruits to all your meals.

You can get this book, it has some recipes that are proven to improve anxiety and depression.

Can yogurt help?

Yogurt carries a lot of good with it. If you crave something sweet when you are feeling anxious or depressed, then yogurt should be your next option. I only use yogurt if I cannot get Banana.

Yogurt is a form of pro-biotics and has what is locally referred to as ‘easy bacteria’ that can help improve your mood. You can also add some honey and berries to improve the taste.

What is the connection between food and mental health?

Ordinarily, there should be no connection between your food and depression. But the fact that lots of vitamins play one or two functions for the secretion of serotonin, which is a significant hormone in our happiness, goes a lot to show how our gut can affect our mood.

Other researches have placed a direct link of our gut with our mental health. So it is high time that we take the food we eat pretty seriously if we are going to defeat depression quickly.

--

--