Uncontrollable Anger Might Be Indicative of Underlying Mental Health Issues

I was recently forced to confront everything I had been suppressing when my fury frightened a loved one

Chandrayan Gupta
Published in
7 min readApr 26, 2021

--

Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

If acquaintances outside my family heard I had an anger problem, they would probably be surprised. In my normal state, I am known as a calm and stable person. Well, I suffer from intense clinical depression and mood swings, so maybe stable is a stretch. But the calm part is true.

That does not mean I never get angry. To the contrary, I am one of the angriest people I know. I simply internalize a lot of it. Channel it through the novels I write or the paintings I make sometimes. Ninety percent of it goes unexpressed. You could even say I push it down.

But sooner or later, that pressure cooker needs to let off steam. I could count on one hand the number of times I have lost control, when I could not prevent the transition from anger to rage. While I was ashamed of myself every time, I never made any attempt to prevent such outbursts in the future.

Until two weeks ago. Until I scared the person I love the most.

Emblematic of a Larger Issue

--

--

Chandrayan Gupta
Invisible Illness

2x Psychological Crime Thriller Author | 415+ Articles Across 10+ Publications on Medium | Instagram: chandrayan_gupta