Unmasking Abusers Who Undermine Ambitions and Sabotage Success

The motives of those driven to shatter dreams

Rev. Sheri Heller, LCSW, RSW
Invisible Illness
Published in
6 min readOct 7, 2023

--

Photo by Andrew Amistad on Unsplash

I remember the day so clearly. My mother, as debilitated as she was by chronic schizophrenia, managed to take me to my acting class at the Little Theatre School on Church Avenue in Brooklyn N.Y. There, at ten years old I was given a platform to safely access my imagination. It was a reparative and life-affirming sanctuary. An escape from the relentless abuse and neglect that comprised daily life. A place where I belonged. A place where I realized latent capabilities for creative expression.

All the more reason why my father, a malignant narcissist, abruptly ceased paying for lessons. Just like that, I was barred from classes. Humiliated and despondent, I gave up on this pursuit and filed it away along with all my other dashed longings and potentials.

My exposure to countless men and women who seek me out for treatment for trauma rooted in narcissistic abuse has shown me that this type of subterfuge is not unusual. Whether one is a child of malignant parents, an employee of a malevolent leader who is a glory seeking puppet master or someone who is romantically involved with a vindictive narcissist, disordered abusers are motivated to sabotage and destroy others' talents and achievements.

--

--

Rev. Sheri Heller, LCSW, RSW
Invisible Illness

Complex trauma clinician and writer. Survivor turned thriver, with a love for world travel, the arts and nature. I think outside the box. Sheritherapist.com