We’re Facing a Psychological War and Friendship is Our Only Hope

Our mental and physical health depends on it

Dona Mwiria
Published in
5 min readNov 20, 2020

--

Women seated together on an orange sofa. Photo by RF._.studio from Pexels

I recently received this text from a friend, “what’s the point of living when death offers peace?” Usually, I would give words of encouragement, a joke, or even a play on words, but I was dumbstruck this time. The text was heavy with emotion, and it was weighing on my heart.

Perhaps it’s because consciously and subconsciously, I felt the same way too. Whether we care to admit it or not, we all feel it. A quick browse on social media or a simple chat with a neighbor is enough to remind us we’re all in the same boat.

Life in 2020 is akin to 9/11 but on a global scale. An invisible terrorist has brought the human race to its knees. With it came everything we’ve worked for- the business we built, the jobs we relied on, and the plans we had. Many have lost their lives, and even more fear for their own.

If that’s not enough, we are grieving the loss of a loved one and our sense of normalcy, no wonder depression is surging and stress levels are at an all-time high.

The whole world has shifted on its axis. It’s shocking and even more… traumatic.

Like war, the end seems near, but yet so far. Those of us who’ve lived through war and survived…

--

--

Dona Mwiria
Invisible Illness

I have a Masters degree in Biochemistry. I write about science, sexuality and relationships. If you you enjoy research with a touch of humor… I’m your writer