What Do You Call a Day That You Almost Died?

I felt like I was a nobody.

Renuka Dhinakaran
Published in
7 min readJun 18, 2020

--

Photo by Ian Espinosa on Unsplash

On 23 April 2019, in a lovely resort on top of a mountain in Germany, I almost died. I had a hypertensive crisis, my blood pressure was 200/120, pulse was near 160 and I crashed. For about 10 seconds (but for what felt like an eternity to me) I saw nothing but a black void. I did not hear anything or feel anything.

After a while, I heard a German-sounding voice. I heard a lot of voices. I heard my husband vaguely saying “you are going to be okay, the ambulance is here. Kanna, go into the room, I don’t want you to see mama like this.” I heard my son saying “I don’t want to go in the room, I want to be with mama. I will be quiet. I am not scared.”

I was given blood thinners, rapid blood pressure reducers, stabilised, and sent back to the resort. The next morning, I crashed again. This time, I was loaded up on pain killers and my husband drove for 9 hours in lashing rain to bring me back home.

What happened after that can only be described as a slow descent into hell. I still don’t know how to explain it, actually, as there are so many elements. I can write a whole book but I’m going to first try to write an essay.

Before that, you must know that I have been living with invisible illnesses for about a decade — fibromyalgia…

--

--

Renuka Dhinakaran
Invisible Illness

I am a burned out international lawyer & mother with Fibromyalgia and anxiety, trying to re-discover my identity. https://www.apainfulidentity.com/