Doctors Won’t Tell You This About Chronic Illness

Long Covid, survivor guilt, and the in-between of illness

Rosario Neaves ✨
Published in
6 min readJan 29, 2023

--

Long Covid has affected my ability to dream or make life plans

It’s been a while since my last update … so long, in fact, that some may think I have fully recovered from Long Covid. But while I wish it were the case, I am sad to write that I have not.

I will admit, my quality of life has significantly improved over the past months since my last post. So much so that words like “blessed,” “grateful,” and “fortunate” often enter my prose. The recovery progress I’ve achieved has been so tremendous; I could not have foreseen it in the summer of 2021 when I was at my worst symptoms.

2022 holiday message to friends and family

The fact that I’ve improved while many COVID-19 Long-haulers have not does not elude me. It is something I am aware of every day.

The fact that I’ve improved while many COVID-19 Long-haulers have not does not elude me.

In fact, the feelings I have are described clinically as “survivor guilt,” which the American Psychological Association describes as “remorse or guilt for having survived a catastrophic event when others did not…

--

--

Rosario Neaves ✨
Invisible Illness

Long Covid patient, researcher, advocate. M.A. Social Sciences, University of Chicago. https://linktr.ee/latinalonghauler