What Is Alexithymia, and Why Does It Matter?

Why can’t I seem to identify my emotions?

Ines May
Published in
4 min readMay 19, 2021

--

I was on a job interview one day and the interviewer asked me to identify a complicated situation at my previous workplace. I talked about working in a veterinary hospital, doing shifts, and dealing with difficult clients. And then he surprised me with this question:

And how did that make you feel?

I froze.

Obviously, the first thing I did after being called for a second interview was to ask Google: What to expect on a second interview? I read that second interviews are usually harder and more specific, that I could be asked about what I would do in certain situations. However, I did not prepare to be asked how I felt about something.

Although the interview took place over zoom, I really don’t think I could hide the fact that I had no idea how to answer.

Frustrated? (I was guessing). Tired? (Not even a feeling. Nice try though).

Not long before this, on appointments with my psychologist, he would often ask me how I felt about a certain event from my childhood or teenage years. I would freeze. My most common answers were good or bad. Neither are feelings.

What is Alexithymia?

--

--

Ines May
Invisible Illness

Veterinarian, diagnosed with autism at 27, writing to figure life. E-mail me at ineslmedium@gmail.com Become a member: https://inesl.medium.com/membership