What to Expect When Re-Entering Society After a Psych Hospitalization

Andre Xavier Herring
Invisible Illness

--

Photo by Sydney Sims on Unsplash

Lockdown has triggered many feelings for people. For me, it has brought back memories of my time as a psych patient. Yes, a patient in a psych ward. Talking about psych wards or psych hospitalization gives people the heebie-jeebies. I understand why mental wellness measures like therapy and meditation are more popular to bring up while hospitalization is left in the shadows.

Discussion about hospitalization is gruesome. It is uncomfortable. And it is not hopeful. However, discomfort around the topic will not minimize how Covid-19 will induce and exacerbate severe mental illnesses within the general public. This damage will lead many to require medical intervention. Even though psych hospitalizations are difficult, I hope to share my prior experience to make it easier for someone else to transition from in-patient treatment to the outside world.

My time in inpatient-treatment was no walk in the park, but my reintegration after was worse. When it came to getting back on my feet I didn’t know where to start and struggled a lot. Hell, I still struggle. But you should not have to go through what I did if you have to utilize hospitalization to manage the mental hardships of Covid-19. Here are some ways to cope!

It Is Okay to Not Feel Okay

--

--

Andre Xavier Herring
Invisible Illness

Watching Oprah as a kid turned me into an adult who pokes at the truth. I’m cool with people knowing my business if it helps another person.