When Binging on Netflix Might Actually Be a Good Thing

But only as long as it’s a temporary coping mechanism

Adriana Sim
Published in
5 min readJan 16, 2021

--

We’ve all had the occasional sleepless night when we just had to finish that binge-worthy season of our favorite show. But when some people repeat this behavior, we call binge-watching an addiction instead of seeing it for what it really is: a coping mechanism.

Take the problem away, and binge-watchers will revert to their everyday lives, just as soon as there’s no more pain to numb.

I should know this first-hand. Binge-watching has been a crutch that I’m not proud of, but it has gotten me through some tough times.

Dealing with breakups

About twelve years ago, I went through a horrible breakup, the kind you go through when your heart gets broken for the very first time. The relationship was short-lived but intense and irrational in ways that only twenty-somethings can experience. I ended things even though I still felt very addicted to that person.

Sketchy streaming websites were the only thing that got me through that period in my life. For weeks, I laid in my bed, eating ramen noodles and watching episode after episode of illegally downloaded Grey’s Anatomy. And whatever else was trending in 2009.

--

--

Adriana Sim
Invisible Illness

In the process of GYST’ing and following my intuition. Gave up a career in medicine to pursue writing, blogging, and, most of all, living.