When Depression Gets Rough, I Open My “Care Packages”

Assembling things that inform, encourage, and comfort soothe my suffering

Martha Manning, Ph.D.
Published in
6 min readJun 6, 2023

--

Photo by Curology on Unsplash

Getting hit

Many of us find our lives interrupted and challenged by episodes of depression and anxiety that bring suffering and disruption to “business as usual.” These intruders stop us in our tracks. Along with their vicious symptoms, they bring confusion, and powerlessness.

Even with recurrent episodes, “been there, done that,” neither orients or comforts us. Our self-confidence evaporates and we doubt that we have even an ounce of control over what is happening.

There are lists of symptoms, protocols of what we should do and who should help us. We receive love and caring. But as much as all of those things may be helpful to us, we are uniquely challenged to find ways to cope with the pain on our own.

Needing more

In my 30’s, depression hit me like a vicious hurricane. I was so depressed that I couldn’t sleep or think. Despite knowing I had a good life; I became persuaded that there was nothing to be enjoyed.

Life was a “life sentence.” I was a ghost in my own house and the threads that connected me to the people I loved stretched almost to breaking.

--

--

Martha Manning, Ph.D.
Invisible Illness

Dr. Martha Manning is a writer and clinical psychologist, author of Undercurrents and Chasing Grace. Depression sufferer. Mother. Growing older under protest.