When Work Hits A Nerve

It’s not always easy to separate work and personal lives.

Edward Anderson
Invisible Illness
Published in
3 min readDec 1, 2020

--

Photo by Yanal Tayyem on Unsplash

I am a survivor of domestic abuse. When most people learn that, they are surprised. More than once, I have been told that I don’t act like a “victim,” my attitude is too bad, or I appear to be too strong to let someone hit me. The truth of the matter is, that’s not how abuse works. It wouldn’t matter if I were Mr. Universe with the will of Ruth Bader Ginsburg; if someone wants to bring you down, they will. It’s a matter of how they do it.

With my ex-boyfriend, he would continuously give me backhanded compliments like, “I like a guy with some meat on his bones.” He would do this, knowing that I was sensitive about that weight I had gained. If I complained, he would tell me that I needed to learn how to take a compliment. And so, the cycle would begin. My self-esteem was in the trash, and he could get me to do anything because I didn’t know my own worth.

Feelings Brought Up

Which brings me to the point of all of this. While researching a true crime article, one story stood out to me. A woman went to save her friend from an abusive situation and ended up being killed. Some of the articles that I read about it went into graphic detail about the friend's abuse. It triggered my memories of what I went through, and suddenly I…

--

--

Edward Anderson
Invisible Illness

Edward has written hundreds of acclaimed true crime articles and has won numerous awards for his short stories. His most recent book is Barbenheimer.