When You Put Fire to Everything You Touch

A lot of people had no benefits whatsoever in being friends with me

Ryan Fan
Invisible Illness
Published in
5 min readJul 22, 2020

--

From ooddysmile on Adobe Stock

“Boy you ain’t worth the skin off my knuckles. You put fire to everything you touch and walk away while it burns” — Lester Freamon in “The Wire”

Do you know anyone who puts fire to everything they touch, a person whose behavior is not only self-destructive, but so self-destructive that they harm everyone close to them?

“Hurt people hurt people” is the famous adage that describes the phenomenon, and I won’t call anyone else out because it’s not my place to. But for a while, I felt like one of those self-destructive people who harmed everyone around him, who was so radioactive that associating my mere presence with someone else hurt them too.

I put fire to everything I touched, and then walked away while it burned. I can’t describe why, but I felt like I was just oozing toxicity and radioactivity everywhere, from the people I interacted with to the surfaces I touched.

Shame would be a light word to describe how I felt. I guess the closest analogy would be like wrecking ball, which destroyed everything in its path, since I just kept making mistakes and hurting people. Needless to say, it wasn’t pleasant to the people around me, and it wasn’t very pleasant to me…

--

--

Ryan Fan
Invisible Illness

Believer, Baltimore City IEP Chair, and 2:39 marathon runner. Diehard fan of “The Wire.” Support me by becoming a Medium member: https://bit.ly/39Cybb8