Following The Road Less Traveled

JD's Stories From the Mountain ~
ILLUMINATION
Published in
5 min readMar 3, 2021

--

“Two roads diverged in a wood and I — I took the one less traveled by, and that has made all the difference.” Robert Frost

“The Road Less Traveled” ©~ Photography by JD Adams

“Life is not a given, it’s a gift.”

Throughout life, we reach a fork in the road, a point where a decision must be made. I usually chose this road less traveled, the path others would not take.

When I was younger, everyone I knew was concerned with school, going to college, high-paying jobs … the future. Their goal: find a way to make as much money as possible in order to retire in 50 years and hopefully enjoy their last few years.

Think about that. Spending your entire life working at something so you might be happy for 5, 10, or 20 years? The alternative is to enjoy your entire life. Some are fortunate. They chose the road less traveled.

A few have chosen one of those roads less traveled and focused on creating adventures, and enjoying the challenges. Starting a small business as opposed to that corporate desk job with benefits. Deciding not to bust your butt making money for someone else's retirement. Putting yourself in charge of your life.

Most are afraid to make this leap. They lack faith in themselves. They make excuses. They avoid choosing that path in the forest or that trail in the desert that seems to lead…

--

--

JD's Stories From the Mountain ~
ILLUMINATION

I write non-fiction stories about My Life, My Journey with Prostate Cancer and Spirituality. My location: a mountain top in the Blue Ridge Mts.