Tanya Pro, Unsplash

a tugging rambling of sorts | #22

ryan
Invisible Self
Published in
3 min readJan 29, 2022

--

I’ve just finished a docu-series on the Silk Road by Joanna Lumley of BBC on Netflix and while it isn’t very in-depth (more light-mood than anything), it has once again sparked my lifelong dreams and longing of exploring and embarking on an adventure. Every so often does this thought float around my mind and each time it stays a little longer than before. The urge to leave the life I have built here in search of the wonders this world has to offer and to take in the history and culture of everything and everyone in all corners of the world has been a very strong motivator in many of my life’s decisions. I am willing to and have taken extreme measures (by a city-resident standard) to ensure that I am able to put myself in the best position to do this, as I have in the past with trips around Southeast Asia and the Trans-Mongolian railway as well as a little of Europe. These are just the tip of the iceberg, and if anything these experiences have left me wanting more and has bred an insatiable hunger within me for new knowledge, appreciation, and understanding of the world around me and the history that have played a part in shaping it to what we see today.

I am fascinated by the intricacies of every culture known to mankind and desire to experience it all, a feat which I know full well that I will never be able to accomplish (Occhiolism? Onism? either way it eats me away from the inside). At this point, I may risk sounding like a broken record player but the fact remains that my greatest goal and dream remains to be able to live a life of exploration. I guess this is just a piece where I am just rambling on about the life I want and this is an effective way for me to track and journal down my thoughts and put into words my aspirations and whatever that may come along in my journey towards hopefully achieving that one day. Fortunately or unfortunately, I have been plagued by the feeling of estrangement with my surroundings. Fortunately, it has made the prospect of leaving without looking back much less painful, and unfortunately, it has made it a tall task for me to fight to fit in all my life only to come to a realisation about 6 years back that perhaps I don’t have to belong where I currently am, and that there is a whole wide world for me to find a belonging wherever it may be.

I picture myself when it’s all said and done to have found a nice place to call my retirement home, somewhere adequately remote in the mountains while being close enough to civilisation that modern comforts aren’t that inaccessible, spending my days writing poetry and possibility books (a big if), reading, looking back at my travels through the years and be contented with the life I have lived and the knowledge I have acquired. Right now that’s all a pipe dream of course, but I’m confident I’ve already taken the first steps in that direction and has started the lifelong journey a couple of years back. Till then, I’ll put my head down and work towards it by making wise financial decisions, developing and maturing my mind, body, and character, and continuing to take full advantage of the hand I was dealt with in my life to practice what I love — art.

#22 — il faut vivre comme on pense, sans quoi l’on finira par penser comme on a vécu.

Did you like this piece? If so, you can support me by clicking on this coffee button below :)

--

--