my take on stubbornness | #16

Stubbornness is simply a determination to a fault.

ryan
Invisible Self
3 min readSep 11, 2018

--

Michael Parede, Unsplash

Some may associate it with a negative perception, but I prefer to call it determination to a fault. A fault necessary for me to grow and learn. For the longest time, I have intentionally gone against most of the advice that was thrown my way. I figured that I had to learn things the hard way, and was determined to challenge the tried and tested route. Unsurprisingly, there were times which I failed miserably but there were also times where I would be able to achieve what I set out to achieve doing something different.

Take my writing for example. I have been heavily invested in rap music for the past 7 years, and it has taught me a great deal. As most people would, I shared this with people in my life. Upon hearing my interest in rap, they were quick to dismiss how it could possibly be anything but detrimental to my growth. Sure, they couldn’t bring it up to me directly, but the concerned eyes and half-hearted smiles I received told me more than I needed. They could not see how rap introduced me to a new culture, one that was looked down on and associated with all things bad, which allowed me to develop my love for poetry and the English language.

What followed after my expression of interest towards rap were casual efforts to insert more pop music or less ‘violent’ music in my life. Everywhere I went was filled with pop music, and whenever the topic of music was brought up, we talked about any genre but rap. Everyone and everything was suddenly tweaked to persuade me and turn me away from rap. I noticed, but I couldn’t be swayed. My interest grew stronger each day and soon I inserted the culture into my own life. Through rap, it taught me how to see issues objectively, and how to read between the lines. It taught me how the body language is a very powerful tool. It taught me how to look outside the walls society has confined us in. It taught me things I wouldn’t have otherwise learned as an 11 or 12-year-old boy.

Rap soon influenced my writing and changed the way I saw life. It helped me grow beyond what any textbook or outside-of-school curricular activity could. And for that, I will have to credit my stubbornness. From that, I could safely say that everything which I took an interest in, I had to learn it the hard way. I figured out something which I took a huge an interest in and I would pursue it all the way, pushing away everything and everyone who stood in my way, even if it was for the better.

A determination to a fault.

Sure, this may not be practical and there will be people who think I’m crazy. Sure, it will almost definitely be a lonely road, but is sacrificing a life of hard lessons which ultimately leads to unmatched growth and learning to follow everyone else to mindlessly go in circles in a never-ending rat race worth it for you?

I know for me, it isn’t.

#16 — Ne pas mettre tous ses œufs dans le même panier.

--

--