The Journey After One Year

Where I am and the vision

Bob Lee
Bob the Developer
2 min readSep 6, 2017

--

Recording Learn Swift with Bob

Looking Back

On September 16th, 2016, I left school and booked a 14-hour flight the night before to my home country, the Republic of Korea, after having lived abroad for a decade. At that point, I was a chemical engineering student. I served in the student government and joined the men’s basketball team. I was 19.

When I first arrived in Seoul, Korea, I first cut off all the financial support and the relationship with my family. I wanted to be independent. It included not contacting my parents and any other friends for half a year. I had to find a way to put myself out there first. I couldn’t let their negativity bring me down even before having started.

I lived in a 36ft square (3.24m square) room in Korean we call “Go-Shi-Won”. I’ve developed a diet of consuming one meal a day to save time and spend more on learning and building. I have spent no time on cooking by consuming processed food. You can see what the room looks like here.

My motto was, eat shit while young and fresh.

Most friends call me crazy. I admit. But, if I wanted to do crazy things in my life and be remembered, I choose the road less traveled.

I could be an instructor teaching English and get fifty dollars per hour. I could be a petroleum engineer and get paid a six-figure salary upon graduation.

None of these are my passion. I admit. Money is great and important. It just feels empty without having the higher purpose and vision beyond the materialistic possessions.

Looking Forward

The future is unknown. Except for one thing. I work. I attempt to provide great service and build relationship with the people. However, as time goes by, I’ve realized one thing. I only have so much time.

These days, I focus on building Team Bob the Developer. I love the community and I wish I could do more for the people. I thought if more people would share the vision and help the community by producing content in English or any other languages, that would be really helpful.

I’m not sure how this venture would turn out to be. I will make sure I pursue the principle — provide great product and service for the people I fell in love with. Thank you for having come this far.

p.s If you’d love to contribute and get to know each other, please feel free to drop a line through here. Love to do something phenomenal and meaningful with you.

--

--