My iPad Pro Daily Driver Setup

Jason Yang
iPad Only
Published in
2 min readJun 20, 2020
Photo by Roberto Nickson on Unsplash

I use my iPad Pro every day. Per Screen Time, I am on it for at least 9–10 hours a day, if not more. It is my main computer, and it has pretty much replaced my laptop. I am currently starting up my physician residency training, so a lot of my computing needs are not too intense. I use a lot of Office products and web apps. Here’s how I set up my iPad Pro.

  • Daily Driver: iPad Pro 11" 2018 Version, 64GB Wifi model.
  • Screen Protection: iCarez Matte Screen Protector
  • iPad Scratch Protection: Sopiguard Carbon Fiber (Avery version, not 3M) wrap. I picked Sopiguard over Dbrand for two reasons: 1) it is thinner so I won’t have any issue with the Magic Keyboard pins not forming a good connection with the iPad pins; 2) it offers side protection without additional cost. The Avery version does have a worse quality compared to 3M wraps though.
  • Keyboard/Trackpad: Apple Magic Keyboard. My iPad Pro sits on the Magic Keyboard about 90% of the day. I decided to splurge on the Magic Keyboard because of how much I need to use the trackpad and the keyboard. The Magic Keyboard is covered with a 3M vinyl wrap from Decal Girl, which includes protection for the palm rests.
  • External Monitor: Dell S2340M. It is fine for my reading heavy use, but you might consider something else if you want the best color accuracy. Any monitor will do.
  • USB C Hub: ProCiv USB C hub. I like this hub because it offers an audio jack that has a physical volume control dial. It does lack a SD card reader unfortunately.
  • Mouse: Logitech M585. It has a scroll wheel that doubles as a middle button as well as two thumb buttons, all of which are customizable within iPadOS.
  • Stylus: Logitech Crayon. I don’t take a lot of notes by hand, nor do I draw or paint. So I got this as a cheaper way to get a functional stylus for the iPad Pro. It works very well, and it has an auto shut off feature to save on battery.
  • Case: Moko Folio Case. Cheap and effective. Great for the 10% of the time when I use my iPad as a tablet.
  • USB C to USB A adapter: Microsoft Adapter. I love this adapter. I use it mostly for my external hard drive and flash drives for work. The adapter is very durable and works well. I thought about getting USB C flash drives, but the write speeds look awful right now compared to USB 3.0 drives. My hard drive is pretty old so I won’t mention it here, but I will likely upgrade to an external SSD at some point.

That’s my set up!

--

--

Jason Yang
iPad Only

Thoughts on medicine, health, and technology. Views are my own and do not substitute for medical advice.