The Best Kickstand Case for the iPad 10.2"

Jason Yang
iPad Only
Published in
2 min readJan 17, 2021
Source: Unsplash, Dose Media

I use my iPad 10.2" mostly for media consumption, and I looked at probably a dozen cases and read all the reviews before settling on what I believe to be the best case out there.

Criteria for my use case:

  • Sturdy and protective. Must be able to sustain at least minor drops.
  • Kickstand that can adjust for multiple angles.
  • Vertical AND horizontal viewing. A lot of the kickstand cases only allow for horizontal use but not vertical.
  • No front cover. My iPad is either at home or in a tablet sleeve. Opening a front cover is unnecessary and cumbersome.
Source: Amazon

My favorite case that satisfies all the above is the Fintie Case for New iPad 8th Gen/7th Gen. It has a rotating kick stand that can change between vertical and horizontal viewing, and you can have almost unlimited angles. The protective shell is solid, and the button bumpers work very well. It is also not too heavy.

There are two downsides to this case. First, it has a plastic screen protector built into the frame of the case. I cut that off immediately. It causes extra glare and unnecessary. I instead put in my own glass screen protector (ELTD protectors), and it fits perfectly with the case. Second, it does add some bulk to the overall profile as the kickstand element bulks outward in the back.

I also checked out the following and here are some quick thoughts:

  • ProCase Trifold: Limited angle, and the felt interior will get dirty.
  • Youtech Kickstand: Very popular, however, kickstand felt flimsy and also the plastic connection with the kickstand cut into the iPad back casing. Most importantly, the button cutouts did not work, at all.
  • ProCase Kickstand: Limited angles
  • Rantice Kickstand: The vertical viewing angle is limited.
  • Youmaker Kickstand: Button bumpers do not work well. Edge protection suboptimal.
  • Zugu Case: Protective, multiple angles. No vertical angle. Felt interior can get dirty quick.

Overall, this weirdly, slightly bulky case is the best case available if you use your iPad for mostly consumption.

--

--

Jason Yang
iPad Only

Thoughts on medicine, health, and technology. Views are my own and do not substitute for medical advice.