A Heart in Captivity

Giulietta Passarelli
iPoetry
Published in
2 min readMay 5, 2024

--

loss of a niece

Photo by Diane Helentjaris on Unsplash

my heart fades out slowly
caught in the mists behind the
clouds
my heart penciled in black for
the years without you

behind that veil your face
comforts me in an artist’s frame
for you were truly art
a picture that glows with your
beauty and smile

my heart comes out from hiding
when I can face that you are gone
I think of all the ways you could
have spent your life in joy and
happiness working and painting
your life in colors of pink and
lavender that lasted eternally and
not cut short

your uniqueness holds me prisoner
like mortar beneath bricks
I so long to talk with you at lunch
together or just on the phone
discussing your day knowing we
can talk again tomorrow and the
next day and the next

--

--

Giulietta Passarelli
iPoetry

Author/Poet/Writer of middle gr. novels, short stories, poems, for adults, YA, the ageless: https://www.gpassarelli.com; updates website every 1st of the month.