A Mother’s Love

Storage

Melissa Wilson
iPoetry
1 min readJan 12, 2020

--

Pregnant woman making a heart with her hands on her belly
Photo by Suhyeon Choi on Unsplash

I watched as she left her seat, the moment he cried
To give him a toy, a hug… she tried
While she balanced on the rocking train
She tried to make him stay in his carriage, again and again
But all that he wanted, was his mommy.

His Chubby little arms assaulted the air
As he beckoned to his lovey standing right there
“Why wouldn’t she take me? I don’t get it at all!”
It breaks her heart to leave him, but she fears they will fall
And all that he wanted, was his mommy.

“Oh, don’t you know I feel safe in your arms?”
“When you’re holding me, the world can do no harm!”
“This place is moving, and it feels so strange.”
“So many people around, and I feel scared!”
“I just want you, mommy!”

I watched her small frame, ever so slight
Then I watched his round face light up with delight
She struggled for balance, held her back, then sat
Pain? Discomfort? She cared not of that!
For she was certain, and it warmed her heart
That all he wanted, was his mommy.

--

--

Melissa Wilson
iPoetry

Guyanese native residing in New Jersey. Emerging writer & entrepreneur. Mother, serial procrastinator, but most defining… CHILD OF THE LIVING GOD!