POETRY

A Prayer to Medusa

Let your voice be heard again

Twiddle Dee
iPoetry
Published in
1 min readDec 2, 2021

--

Photo by Sharon McCutcheon on Unsplash

My beautiful Medusa
Raped then hurled from the temple
Let your voice be heard again

When your movement feels
Too monstrous
Too tender
It must feel safer
To be the stone-maker.
No suffering there
Just a still ache
And bony grey dreams

Show me your bruises
And your breaks
Let your voice be heard again

Welcome back my friend
Come now and eat the tail of your pain
Let’s form a sacred circle
Feed endings to beginnings
And start to sing again

Show me the cold flame
Of your rage
Let your voice be heard again

Welcome back temptress
Welcome back apple-giver
Show me what is possible
There is no destruction here
Only knowing
Bring me to my tree
And let me eat

--

--

Twiddle Dee
iPoetry

Spiritualised. Earth lover, also words, sounds, humans, trees. Trying to walk lightly…