All the Pretty People

The Other Boys

Abdullah
iPoetry

--

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

When those cool boys walk in, I step back from my mind’s world into this world. I look at them and sigh. Their perfect looks, A+ grades, social skills, and sharp minds look so cool while I sit there and watch. They in their jeans, denim jackets, and sneakers build personalities, while I in my PJs, flippers, and t-shirt watch.

I look at them and think that if I were pretty, many things would’ve been easier. I heard that people like to watch those who are decent-looking and have a great personality. Is that true?

Maybe then I’ll know what it takes to be pretty.

The other boys get the most out of this world.

The other boys’ vision is blurred.

The other boys know the solution.

The other boys don’t live in delusion.

The other boys drive so fast.

The other boys know how to get it started.

The other boys drift with their cars.

The other boys don’t care about wars.

I don’t want to be like them. I just don’t want me to be me.

They say beauty is inside, but can I see within myself?

An empty soul carries a body that can touch but never feel.

When you don’t know who you want to be, you become someone you don’t know. I lost myself in searching for others, but you can’t lose something you never have. Where have I left you? Where have I found you? I got lost in questions I created myself.

--

--

Abdullah
iPoetry

Poetry|Stories|Lessons|Thoughts| I write my feelings, my opinions, and my hope. It's a wonderful time to be alive