Alluring Glow

Abdullah
iPoetry
Published in
2 min readAug 20, 2023

--

A letter to my Best Friends

Photo by Luca Bravo on Unsplash

This is a simple poem. I’m going to write it for a friend or two. I never thought I would say such things to strangers like you. Let’s wait until the seed of sorrow we plant in the land of hope turns into the tree of ecstasy. Work for the lightness we were never able to see while hiding in the closet. We hide, we seek, we meet, we’re freaks, the joy we sneak in every other week, we weep, and we repeat.

These mountains have peaks we’ve got to climb. I’m saying these words for you because I know you’ll never get them. Let’s be the night princes and shine when it’s our time. You’ve got all of mine by your side.

They seek love; we seek money; we don’t owe anyone anything; and we hate it when it gets sunny. In the darkness, we love to stay, but when we get each other together, we slay. I know what you’ve been up to lately; this world is a game. Play it safe. We don’t belong to anyone; we’re nothing like the colorless flowers surrounding us.

We always look after vacant alleys and rooms. I know you like your circle to be portable, but you still let me in. We don’t roam here and there, but we still have those unforgettable memories that still make us chuckle. I’m well aware of how much you love melancholy. I hate to say the word, but that’s what makes us different from them, and we are not strangers to each other. Let’s hide in the closet together and turn into the skeletons we’ve been trying to bury our whole lives.

There’s an ache in our soul, but we don’t let this ache be in our bones; that’s something they will never understand, and they don’t have to know because we’re good on our own. Light will shine from the cracks of our hearts. There’s light in our soul; we don’t have to look after it. God created night for us, and only we can see each other in pitch black. I know you don’t run after light, but let this hope glimmer in your soul. Dear besties, I hope we stay forever together.

I won’t let this high society break your fervor. Burn the candle at both ends; that’s how you see the radiance and alluring glow.

--

--

Abdullah
iPoetry

Poetry|Stories|Lessons|Thoughts| I write my feelings, my opinions, and my hope. It's a wonderful time to be alive