Always Look For Hope

A poem

Swagata Deshmukh
iPoetry
1 min readSep 23, 2020

--

Photo by Dejan Zakic on Unsplash

Today I started to write a poem with a title,
“I feel defeated” and felt like shit in pile.

Nothing had gone right for a week straight,
Happiness hadn’t knocked on my door this late.

This happened a lot but never this long,
Made me feel like I became part of a sad song.

Only things missing were a window and rain,
But my bad luck didn’t even allow me that pain.

One after another, the pile of shit got bigger,
My own thoughts became my mood killer.

I wrote a long poem, then added another verse,
The laptop screen seemed to laugh and enjoy my hurt.

I backspaced it all and started to write something afresh and short,
To give a big “fuck you” to the laptop and my thoughts.

So I started a poem and called it “Always look for hope”,
And just like that, I found a better way to cope.

Based on true events.

--

--

Swagata Deshmukh
iPoetry

Funnily fabulous freelance writer because I eat confetti & snort humor✨ I love being creative, make memes and dream of becoming a cat one day!