Poetry

Come, Let Me Shatter You

A love poem

Words by Egypt
iPoetry

--

Why are all the songs sang
about pretty love
that one could wrap
a cute ribbon around?

Why are odes written
of eyes losing themselves
in an endless gaze of bliss?

Why are scrolls laid out
with epic fables
of brave lovers
coming to rescue
a lost heart?

For is all love a fragile light that must be fed?

What about the love
that makes one question
how loving they truly are?
The kind of love
that whispers in our ears at night
all the things
that could go wrong?

The type of heavy
yet burning love
that cause our souls to shatter
Now that is the love
I offer to you.

Come,
walk nearer
no, run into my fire
Let me shatter
your soul open
with my heavy and scorching love

and see if you have
any of you left after this

Follow me or Subscribe

If you resonated with this poem, share your thoughts in a comment and read more of my poetry below

--

--

Words by Egypt
iPoetry

Essayist, Poet, and Writer. Dancing at the intersection of words and thoughts. https://ko-fi.com/wordsbyegypt