DEATH OF LOVE

Intervention

Star Love Grey
iPoetry
2 min readApr 8, 2022

--

Image: Mads Schmidt Rasmussen (Unsplash)

Could we stop a second and take a breath?
Could we possibly untarnish the hate?
The hate that has reckoned us close to death.
Could we revive and fly free from that fate?

I’m asking for a friend, the human race.
Well, it used to be a friend until now.
It‘s shape-shifted with disgusting disgrace.
It thinks it’s won, but what, where, why and how?

Could we stop the destruction of all love?
Let’s take hate back to where love is hiding.
Restore love back for another great fling.

I’m calling time out because love is lost.
Snuffed out by raw hate or gave up and fled.
Once sacred vows are now easily tossed.
Compassion seems to be dying or dead.

I now wonder if they’ll ever return.
This hopelessness fills me with doubtful stress.
A quixotic World is my fervent yearn.
Divine deeds happen under dire duress.

Could we talk to the upended offended?
Convince them to stop mutating the World?
Could we convince the purveyors of hate,
toss it aside and let love be unfurled?

You’re shaking your head “No,” and walking away.
You were my last friend, but now you’re a foe.
The hate pandemic has made you betray.
I won’t stop trying to make all love grow.

--

--

Star Love Grey
iPoetry

I am the opened Pandora’s Box. Actress/Singer/Dancer, Writer, Poet. I’ll write any genre if it holds still long enough. Other boring stuff, but I’ll run out of