In Death’s Arms

A.M.
iPoetry
Published in
2 min readAug 28, 2024

--

(almaghrib.online)

Follow me down to where no one else can go
A parting of strata deep beneath the snow
Here, you’re safe, you’re finally alone
I can stay with you, or if you wish, I’ll go

Your tears don’t fall as heavy underground
Your pain will rise upwards as you go further down
Here, you’re free, no one even knows
They don’t deserve you in the place they call home

Always too pure with a heart made of gold
Always reaching for what you could never hold
I’ll build you a fire, I’ll shield you from the cold
I’ll do what I can to keep you safe and full

No need to be frightened when you see this new land
You’ll see things no one there will ever understand
Keep walking, and don’t fall; you’ll soon know where it leads
No more anger, no more sorrow, no more money or greed

You’ll forget all those troubles you had in the world
Here, you’ll be worthy, your purpose unfurled
The darkness is scary but soon will be bright
You can do no more wrong here; this is your right

--

--

A.M.
iPoetry

Amateur writer of poetry, short stories, self-help, music, book reviews and whatever feels right.