IPOETRY-THE SHORT PLACE PROMPT

Dream Me A River*

A poem

Neera Handa Dr
iPoetry
Published in
2 min readNov 26, 2021

--

Photo by Osman Rana on Unsplash

Yes, it was as easy as singing a song,

falling in love, I mean.

You promised to dream me a river
then gave me thirst,
I promised to wait forever,
but was to leave first.

We couldn’t dream or drive together,
the road forked,
and we had
become friends, just...

So, no regrets my dear,
neither you nor I knew,
the way to happiness goes through tears
first.

We took our separate ways
never to know the pain or the
pleasures of love.

We learned nothing, neither
to dream a river of tears
nor to row our dreamboat of
love.

We met, we loved,
we sang, we dispersed!

--

--

Neera Handa Dr
iPoetry

Top writer in poetry & Sustainability, compulsive writer, reading, writing just about anything. I write daily, have published a PhD, a book & academic articles.