Foreseen Us

A poem.

Sreelakshmi
iPoetry
2 min readApr 28, 2023

--

Photo by Will Paterson on Unsplash

Maybe another day in a bustling crowd;
with no prior notions or visions,
We would find out ourselves for sudden,
with a flicker in our eyes after so long.
I would give you another tight hug,
with a lump in my throat and a silent sob.

With the same old giggles, we’ll have a cup of tea
with our same long old conversations.
I’ll tell you how I fell for another person
and how raging I was then.

You might get me a fresh flower this time
I would wear it in my open hair
that would not be lustrous then.
Oh, how much we traversed in time.
I would notice your grey mustache,
grey hairs and your old shivering veins.

I’ll tell you how my blood sugar has raised
And you’ll offer me a momentous stare of concern.
We would talk about our children;
and of how many blueprints they are,
of ourselves from the past.
With another old photograph,
You’ll tell me how you met your wife
and I’ll realize how perfect you got together.

Straight away, the sunset would engulf us
I would not bid you a proper goodbye.
Slowly stepping, I’ll walk towards my bus.
we are older now, you know
I won’t wave goodbye to you
don’t mistake; the memory troubles unexpected.

By the time the bus would have drifted apart,
you would travel back home.
But I’ll remember you for a sudden
maybe after half an hour,
I may turn back from the same bus,
and wave back my hand at you.
To you already left, years back.

--

--