POETRY

Freeing My Mind with Art

How to Deal with Negative Thoughts

Channing Teele
iPoetry
Published in
2 min readDec 30, 2022

--

A face is sketched on paper to release negative thoughts.
Photo by Dusan Kipic on Unsplash

The emotion flushes away
The tiredness I once felt.
Frustration rushes through,
Tension the card I’m dealt.

I rise from my bed to grab
Colored pencils and my notebook
I want to free my head of red
To see a brand-new outlook.

My fist wants to slash the page
With dark colors and dreary clouds
To fill the white with rage
That represents the persistent sounds.

But in my mind, an image flashes
Of a shadow hanging from a noose
I begin to outline the shape
And it sparks the creative juice.

The once dark thoughts get brighter,
As the white begins to disappear
Replaced by a spark of calmness
My genuine emotion becomes so clear.

An urge to add blue and orange
Tickles through my skin
I dig through my new colors
And my lips begin to grin.

--

--