Godspeed

a poem

Sean H.
iPoetry
1 min readFeb 9, 2024

--

photo by author

Catching my son’s assessing glance
As he and his friend climb
Out of the car for school,
Eyes half open, focused
On the middle distance -
Hunter’s eyes like mine,
Make clear that he’s ready
To capture the day,
And remind me
With a tightening throat
And the threat of a tear,
Of his growing separateness
And the diminishing need for
Protector and teacher,
His new pack as a reference
While family still comforts but
not key like before
When we trekked mossy woods
Flecked with Autumn leaves
And late day sun streaking
Through quiet trees,
New quiet awaits the hearth-bound
As he ventures alone,
Cuts new paths through the world
And returns to share word
Of the changes
I’ll see only projected
on screens,
Go forth then, my son -
Wend your way as you will,
With the warmth of
Old home fire always alight
in your adventurous heart.

--

--

Sean H.
iPoetry

curiosity is my guiding principle, which leads me to want to feel and understand the wonders of existence, the interplay of ideas, and the beauty of the world