Colourless Grief

A Villanelle Poem

Akanksha Priyadarshini
iPoetry
1 min readJan 10, 2024

--

There’s colourless grief in me,
quiescent sorrow behind layers of skin,
rouses on macabre nights like this.

My appendage-like soul stays wordless,
the pilling dark soothes the little vermin,
there’s colourless grief in me.

Through my heart, emptiness looks artless,
waves of restrained river in my eyes begin,
rousing on macabre nights like this.

Memory of loss smells like wine, timeless,
drunk and drowsy I lay on endorphins,
there’s colourless grief in me.

As old as the dead child, faultless,
it has lived in the crypt within,
rousing on macabre nights like this.

Crack of the dawn, I will arrive fleshless,
my being — a mere cabin,
there’s colourless grief in me,
rousing on macabre nights like this.

The villanelle is a structured poem comprising five tercets followed by a quatrain, with two repeating rhymes and two refrains. You can read more about the form here.

Thank you for reading. 🙌🏻 Stay connected with me on Instagram at thejourneyinink where I share Micro Poetry Pieces on self-love, grief, and growth.🌿

--

--

Akanksha Priyadarshini
iPoetry

Writer, Engineer, Thinker | Join me on a journey of self-discovery and mental well-being | akankshapriyadarshini.substack.com