“Hello Daddy” - The Call

a poem

Cecile Gerwel Proches
iPoetry
1 min readJan 27, 2024

--

Photo by Praveen kumar Mathivanan on Unsplash

That night

The last time
That you would get to answer the phone
And I your voice hear

Hello Daddy

Suddenly an intense awareness of having uttered those words arose

I knew on one level that they had been released and received
Yet I sensed something start to slip away

I was in a parallel universe
Where time started racing backward

Call ended

I often look at the hour
When we would most connect
You knew that this was the time when we were both most present

You always ended by dutifully urging me to have a good night’s rest
And then telling me how you should let me go

When the strong urge to call hits me
I gently whisper “Hello Daddy” to the heavens

I now know
That the transmission is just a little bit different

Sometimes I see it in nature’s work

A glorious sunrise to make me welcome the new day
The graceful moon to guide and lighten my path
And a bright star reminding me that there’s so much more out there

For in this new realm

We are no longer bound by earthly conventions
Just true calling and receiving from the soul

--

--

Cecile Gerwel Proches
iPoetry

Social scientist, 'geriatric millennial', inspired by nature, poetry