I Spent a Day Watching

And Discovered Life’s Greatest Secrets

Mr. Atom
iPoetry
2 min readJun 23, 2024

--

Image by Author with Nightcafe

There once was a couple, so fine,
Sat on a bench, holding hands in line.

Love’s saccharine glow,
Made me think of my own,
And how fleeting romance can be in time.

A businessman rushed by with a frown,
No time to enjoy this sweet town.

I thought to myself then,
“Slow down, dear friend, when
Life’s beauty is lost in the chase of a crown.”

A child’s laughter echoed with glee,
As she chased butterflies wild and free.

Her carefree delight,
Made my heart take flight,
Reminding me to live in the moment, you see.

A group of friends passed, laughing and bright,
Their joy infectious, a warm summer’s night.

I thought of my crew,
And how friendships shine through,
The ups and downs of life’s plodding light.

A musician played melodies sweet,
His guitar sang with every beat.

His music did stray,
Into my heart of gray,
And brought solace to my weary feet.

A couple fought, their words loud and clear,
Their love lost in the midst of fear.

I thought of my past,
And the love that did not last,
And how fragile relationships can appear.

A jogger ran by, sweating and fast,
Her determination did surely last.

I thought of my goals,
And how fitness makes us whole,
And the discipline required to truly amass.

A group of tourists wandered by slow,
Their maps and cameras in tow.

I thought of my travels,
And the wonders that unravel,
In the uncharted territories we do know.

A homeless man sat, his eyes cast down,
His story unknown, his heart worn out.

I thought of my own,
And the struggles we’ve known,
And how kindness can be the greatest crown.

-By Mr. Atom

--

--