Idle Thought

There seems to be no rest for a mind that is fraught

Jupiter Grant
iPoetry

--

Imagen de Pexels en Pixabay

Kept awake for long hours by idle thought.
There seems to be no rest for a mind that is fraught.

Sleep comes and goes, and never lasts for long,
and yet, to my knowledge, nothing is wrong.

That doesn’t stop my brain, though, from thinking the worst,
reliving past failures, and believing I’m cursed.

Countless 2 am musings, reliving events,
my neurons are firing, my whole body tense.

Replaying today, yesterday, or years ago
as I replay past errors, my anxieties flow.

“What was I thinking?”, “What did I say?”
“What must they think of me?”, “Why’d I fuck up this way?”

Esprit d’escalier in the middle of the night.
Berating myself, “I can’t do anything right.”

There must be some method to shut off my head,
from telling me I’m stupid and am better off dead.

Over-active imagination is a son-of-a-bitch,
and anxiety disorder is a wicked old witch,

--

--

Jupiter Grant
iPoetry

Writer, Poet, Narrator, Freelancer. Living in UK & my own head. Send queries here: jupiterslair@gmail.com. Buy me a coffee here: https://ko-fi.com/jupitergrant