Imperfectly Me

Love thyself

Melissa Wilson
iPoetry
1 min readJan 4, 2020

--

Photo by The Creative Exchange on Unsplash

Woke up this morning, styled my hair
Applied my makeup with expert care
Donned a fabulous outfit, dressed with such style!
I’m not a movie star…
Just ME!

Rolled out of bed, fluffed my mane
Uhhh… I don’t feel like doing this again!
Pulled on some slacks, and a fashion less shirt
Today’s certainly not a day for a skirt!
Sorry, I don’t care to impress…
I am, Just ME!

Don’t want to talk! (wow! you’re chatty today!)
Sure, I’m flexible! (no, I want things my way!)
Natural or Straight? MAYBE I’ll shave…
You work hard, buy whatever you crave!
But the goal is to save for a rainy day…

I don’t know which version will come your way
I am Just ME!

--

--

Melissa Wilson
iPoetry

Guyanese native residing in New Jersey. Emerging writer & entrepreneur. Mother, serial procrastinator, but most defining… CHILD OF THE LIVING GOD!