Leaping From The Cages

A leap of hope for love

Shruthi_Rajaram
iPoetry
1 min readJul 4, 2024

--

Anonymous

Melting with your sugar sweetened talks,
And dreaming about of those heavenly handholding walks…

Reading those flirt-filled text messages,
And recovering from those haunting heart damages…

Ignoring my brilliant brain that shouts, a big no,
And listening to my humming heart that says no more doubts, just go.

Letting my heart have its first flight from out of its cages,
Inking your name in all my empty diary pages.

Realising later that you were just a character in my game,
Whom I lose to always, but wanting to play again with the same..

My heart fluttering back weak into the cage for its much-needed weeping,
After breaking itself, in coming to know you weren't ever for keeping..

Vowing to never fly out of the cage,
Knowing very well that love is all but, just a mirage..

But realising very well,

That another time, it will again take those frightening leaps,
For "love" is all that this heart seeks…

-Shruthi

--

--

Shruthi_Rajaram
iPoetry

Writing is how I pour my heart out into the world. Any writing, I feel should be relatable and be able to tell the reader they aren't alone in this world.