Memories of Me

Like wild vines run through natureโ€™s streams

--

Janis Rozenelds on Unsplash
Jasnis Rozenfelds on Unsplash

Memories of me float like paper trains on my river.
Fleeting, this nostalgia, is calling the nymphs of time past to bear witness to its flow.
My heart is stuck
Five...
I was young and free.
I don't think I am anymore.

Eighteen...
Girls
High cliffs
Star Trek
Easy-peasy

Thirty-something...
Seems like manhood's taking a drink with me
Wrinkles are coming;
Grey hairs
Life,
Passes by in colors
Of lessons
I thought I forgot
Names ring true in my veins
Some sweet
Nice and neat
Others....
I've learned I can be happy
If I decide to be
I'm content
With my chin not being smooth
Diet plans and exercise
My name's my own
These days
I'm staying in my arms
Because I want to
To know myself
To feel my breath
Pulsing through
The seams of my existence
And like wild vines
Run through nature's streams.

--

--