My Lifeguard Saving Me

A Nonet

Joe Merkle
iPoetry
1 min readFeb 18, 2022

--

Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

This is my first attempt at a Nonet.

I knew little of life before you
blindly bouncing, bravely bounding
leaping, soaring, cliff diving
plunging, crashing, hatching
another heartache
then you appeared
engineered
my cure
love

love
so grand
gift so rare
the love you shared
you took a chance with
a single glance, you stared
deep within a place hidden
beneath a deep, bottomless well
my lifeguard, saving me, mouth to mouth

©2022 Joe Merkle All rights reserved.

Thank you for reading.

The list below is of some of the writers I love to read. Thank you all for your inspiration and for enriching my life with your words. Please check them out if you have not done so. You will thank me later.

Margie Willis, David Rudder, Ravyne Hawke, Bwalya Chanda, William J Spirdione, Willow Lovelight, Jan Sebastian, Joseph Lieungh, Monoreena Acharjee Majumdar, LM, Amy Christie, Hayden Moore, Jaylee Reign, jules, Joanne Olivieri, Thief, Ann Christine Tabaka, Harry Stefanakis, Diana C.

If you want to know more about who I am go here.

I hope you have found my writing a joyful experience. You can help others find me by reading and commenting on other stories here.

https://joemerkle.medium.com/membership

--

--

Joe Merkle
iPoetry

I write about love, life, loss, kindness, and gratitude. Toss in some fiction and humor and you have the meanderings of a multifarious writer.