My School in a Cell

A poem.

Arif Istiaque Hossain
iPoetry
2 min readJun 23, 2023

--

Photo by Tolga Ulkan on Unsplash

Peering through my window, I observe
The wide landscape with busy people.

The rushing humans in their pursuits of
Money, fame, respect, excellence.

Most eyes tell me the mere aspiration of earning a living
While a few bear hopes of bringing change.

I ogle at the loving couples with roses in hand.

I grudge them, become an intruder to the pair of eyes.

My eyes meet those of a happy family,
Laughing daughter, exuberating son,
Caring mother, visionary father.

Again I don’t miss out to glare at
Betrayals, breakups between couples
And unrest among families.

I glare at the materialistic millionaires
Moving in their posh Lamborghinis.

But only manage to envy the spiritual ones
Proceeding with mere contented possessions.

I observe people clinging to their connections.

Connections, integrated or segregated by
Death, borders, society, identity.

I stare at painful deaths
But my eyes can not bare to look at happy endings—
The goodbyes which left out suffering ambiance.

I look around to find the ravenous crying,
People following their destinies to become refugees.
I see fear in the eyes of both warriors and victims,
Fear of the unknown wars and calamities.

Staring at the Creator's world, I can't
Help myself wondering at the skies,
Mystified horizon, drops of water bringing green.

Watching my home lose itself
I can't but point my glaring eyes
To the best creations.

Tired of locking eyes with that of my species
I look up, finding the birds
Whose innocence couldn't make them the best.

I wonder at Almighty's amusing plan
To accuse me of a fabricated crime,
To educate me by the aperture of my cell.

Fulfilling my sentence, I'm frightened
To face the world outside my window,
To go out to dwell in a world,
A world of beauty, a cruel world.

A place with no value for my informal learning
Where a yellow paper matters a lot.

But I still hope to attain beauty
Cause that's what I have been taught
At my school, which I'm leaving,

The only connection which will drive me out
In that insane world.

--

--

Arif Istiaque Hossain
iPoetry

A blessed soul who loves to read and write. Books, history and everyday lives are the topics that interest me.