No Time To Read

A Funny Poem

Amna Fiaz
iPoetry
1 min readAug 25, 2020

--

Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

So many books on my shelf
So many under my to-do list
My life is so busy lately
When will I get time to read these.

All the hardcover with their crisp spine
And paperbacks looking good as new
Stare at me with judging paper eyes
Questioning, when will they get their queue.

Emma stares down at me
She is relentless in pursuit
Adam looks on in frustration
Too fed up with my slothful mood

The silence is much louder
When I’m alone
but the room feels a lot crowded
When they start to go on and on

I promise them I would
Read every one of them in due time
But they know I never could
Unless I start reading and stop this nonsense rhyme

@Amna Fiaz 2020

--

--

Amna Fiaz
iPoetry
Writer for

An enthusiast writing about life, emotions and expressions that wants to be able to talk and be heard.