iPoetry-The Short Place Prompt

Paper Planes

--

A Poem

https://unsplash.com/@elmundoderabbit

I know how it feels to suck in a breathe and leave it there, to hang my hopes on memories
and watch it crumble like cards.
To tuck in my fingers into dirty holes in my pocket and wriggle my finger around my shorts, deep in the seams,
and pull it up empty of any useful thing
I know how it smells- defeat,angry and cold.

I wanted to know what it feels like to get tired of running, so I
stayed, a plant in your garden.
The Sunday train honks loudly on this tarmac leading home.
If I should run, where would I go?
My feelings have become the thistles
growing in your way
keeping you from your happy place.
I donโ€™t want that.

Iโ€™m up tilted by the knowledge of what itโ€™s like to live in that past.
Iโ€™ve been there-
Carried on the waves of mistakes,
with broken words and errors to drink.

Now, Iโ€™m aging

#59
I know what it feels like to have lumps in oneโ€™s body
#60
I gave my first grandchild a kissโ€ฆ

--

--