Poem

Mel Rose
iPoetry
Published in
Feb 19, 2023

A poem.

Photo by Carolina Pimenta on Unsplash.

I feel a poem
flailing down the stairs of my
mind like a slinky,
all haphazard falls
and uncertainty,
but there it lands,
at the bottom.

The hold it has on
my attention, blesses me
with a bouncing leg,
amid an anxious
scavenger hunt.

Where did you go dear poem?

Where are you hiding in this jungle,
in this dense fog engulfing my clarity?

I cannot find you,
do not see you,
are you whispering to me?

Are there words that won’t travel any further?
Are there words waiting to be found?

Am I too focused on soaring when I should first practice taking flight?

Am I too focused on finding you?

Dear poem,

I’ll search for you in my soul,
though I’m afraid mine
doesn’t speak to me,
kindly.

--

--

Mel Rose
iPoetry

I'm not going to allow death to accomplish it's goal before I've accomplished mine.