she had no words to say

woman, life, freedom: a poem

Lindsay Soberano Wilson
iPoetry
Published in
2 min readJun 23, 2024

--

Photo by Matheus Ferrero on Unsplash

I was in a University of Toronto auditorium
in 2005 for a book talk by Marina Nemat
on surviving Evin prison
unimaginable torture and resolve
so I wasn’t really in Toronto
but transported to 1982 Tehran.

(I read the book in one day
I had no words left to say…
they fell out of my mouth
and onto my lap
in all kinds of ways
I found tears in rivers
I didn’t know existed.)

She had no words to say
she had no word
no word
no words
left
to say
anyways.

I was so naive,
so naive to think
such violations
of human rights
were a thing
of the past
or that freedom
was ever even
built to last.

--

--

Lindsay Soberano Wilson
iPoetry

Pushcart/Best of Net Nom I Cobalt Blues, Hoods of Motherhood & Casa de mi Corazon I Creator: Put It To Rest I Editor: iPoetry |linktr.ee/LindsaySoberano_Wilson