Table Talk

A poem

Giuseppe Bartoli
iPoetry
Jun 7, 2024

--

Photograph taken by Giuseppe Bartoli.

If “love makes your soul
crawl out from its hiding place,”
then maybe we need to consider
separate bathrooms. No Tennyson flower
could alter my mind on the subject.
Even a French outhouse
in the middle of a lavender field in Luberon,
mid-June, couldn’t conceal certain things.

Love is all about acceptance,
and living together has tested this notion
on several occasions. As a result,
I can admit to liking most of you.
Maybe it wasn’t such a great idea
asking me to stop hiding my feelings.
Be a dear, and please pass me the salt!

--

--

Giuseppe Bartoli
iPoetry

American-Italian-Peruvian poet, ghostwriter, copywriter, politician, and journalist. Open for freelance jobs. Published 7 books; 7 more on the way.