Poetry

The Night I Became a Poet

Free Verse Poetry

Abdullah
iPoetry
Published in
1 min readMar 9, 2024

--

Photo by Filip Mroz on Unsplash

I played with the monsters under my bed
gazing at the void every night,
all night long until I met you.

All the flowers bloom to see you,
the moon of my quixotic sky.

Now I see stars, Saturn, red and
blue clusters, and all of the cosmos.

When I look at you, I feel like you
might be a moon in a parallel universe.

Like the snow that falls in the winter
Like the leaves that fall in the autumn
I fell under your love spell at the right time.

Now you’ll hear my voice in the songs
of sirens as the rain from my eyes
falls into the ocean.

The night I met you was
the night I became a poet
The night elegies at the back of my
mind turns into the odes of the birds

My debut poetry book is available to buy on Amazon. If you are interested in poetry, you can give it a shot.

Copyright © 2024 by Muhammad Abdullah Zafar.
Written in Pakistan
All rights are reserved.

--

--

Abdullah
iPoetry

Poetry|Stories|Lessons|Thoughts| I write my feelings, my opinions, and my hope. It's a wonderful time to be alive